Healing Complex Takeover

240429a UKR healing Newsletter
Cbe1c326420209 56354f8717f86
IMG 5008 1024x768

Healing Complex (2018-ongoing) is an Urbane Künste Ruhr project initiated by artist Irena Haiduk that tests new forms of social interaction. In the third phase of the project, Urbane Künste Ruhr is now inviting two artists - found through an open call - to take part in a research and work residency. From April to the end of June 2024, Anne Arndt and Camilo Pachón will take over the site and develop a programme for the neighbourhood and other interested parties. The guests will become hosts and open the doors of the Healing Complex as an open studio, inviting people to workshops, walks and readings and seeking dialogue with visitors from Erle, Gelsenkirchen and the surrounding area. In this open process, the Takeover invites visitors to follow and actively participate in the artistic process.

Walking as a democratic means of transport is a central component of our urban experience. But how do we experience urban space and its paths? The evaluation of public space varies depending on the person and perspective - who is allowed to move, when and how? The artist Anne Arndt consciously devotes herself to walking without a practical purpose and invites us to perceive urban space through different lenses. Together with her and local contemporary witnesses, we would like to explore Erle from new perspectives. After the walks, we will meet for Hanging Out_ at the Healing Complex to examine, discuss and reflect on the cultural meanings of walking in our society.

How does community develop and function? What are common values? What do we want to share? What do we want to create together? Camilo Pachón's artistic work is based on the principle that all energy emanates from human relationships. With this in mind, he uses art as a tool to bring people together, connect them on different levels and create situations that encourage direct communication and interaction. Using masks, costumes and rituals from the carnival in the form of workshops and parades, the artist aims to transform the Healing Complex into a "masked temple", The Ancient Masked Temple, in whose transformation everyone should participate.


Open Studio

every
Thursday 15—19 h
Saturday 11—14 h


Programme

Walks and workshops:
every Saturday from 14 h

Admission to all events is free.


Accessibility

Information on accessibility can be found on the Healing Complex website


Address

Ehemalige St. Bonifatiuskirche
Cranger Straße 338-342
45891 Gelsenkirchen

preview Video

Events


  • Saturday
    18 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    29.6.

    Closing event at the Healing Complex

  • After two wonderful, varied years, the Healing Complex project is coming to an end. We would like to celebrate this conclusion and farewell to the former St. Bonifatius church in Gelsenkirchen-Erle together with you: we cordially invite you to spend an evening with us with an artistic programme, music, talks and much more.


  • Saturday
    16 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Reading
    22.6.

    Hanging Out_ reading

  • Reading and discussion with Anne Arndt, Kamala Dubrovnik, Anneke Lubkowitz and others

    How do we move? What makes us move? How do we change from an individual body to a collective body that shapes the future? With the authors Kamala Dubrovnik and Anneke Lubkowitz and other guests, Anne Arndt talks about urban walking and perspectives on the city and its stories. Register now


  • Friday
    16—22 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    21.6.

    Day of the Sun

  • We celebrate the (almost) longest day of the year!
    With Camilo Pachón, Andi.Andean and the performers Calamidades Lola and Amuleto Manuela

    Every year, Camilo Pachón and his project ‘Carnaval Digital’ celebrate the summer solstice. In Gelsenkirchen, the day begins at 4 pm with a workshop led by musician Andi.Andean, in which the participants put together a drum ensemble. From 7 pm a series of musical interventions from all over the world will follow and the dance ritual Saca Sal by the performers Calamidades Lola and Amuleto Manuela at dusk.

    The number of participants in the drum workshop is limited to 15 people. The workshop will be held in English. Register now

    You can take part in the follow-up programme without registering.


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Walk
    15.6.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • City walk and talk with Anne Arndt

    The city is full of stories: Architectural witnesses speak to us if we are willing to listen, local experts are connected to the neighbourhood through memories. The artist Anne Arndt invites us to perceive the urban space while walking and to combine existing knowledge with new discoveries and experiences during guided city walks.

    Afterwards, the participants will come together again to share their impressions. Everyone is also invited to bring their own photos, maps, stories, books or objects with a connection to Erle, Gelsenkirchen and the Ruhr region as well as to the themes of the city and walking and to share their knowledge about them. Register now


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    8.6.

    The Ex-Votos of your Inner Temple

  • With guest lecture ‘The Slavic Pagan Powers’
    Lecture by Anisia Affek and ceramics workshop with Camilo Pachón

    What connects people with nature? How can this connection be explored and possibly re-established? This event examines the world views of indigenous peoples in Colombia and relates them to the pagan rituals of Slavic cultures. Against this background, the participants will then work together to create ceramics inspired by the connection between humans and nature. Register now

    The workshop will be held in English.


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    1.6.

    The Spirit between the Mask and your Body

  • Workshop with Camilo Pachón and Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica

    Using masks, costumes and rituals from the carnival tradition, Camilo Pachón wants to transform the Healing Complex into a ‘masked temple’ and invites you to take part in this transformation. Using the mask as a transformative being and tool, the participants of this workshop will playfully explore rhythmic movements and body practices together with dancer and choreographer Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica. Register now

    The workshop will be held in English and German.


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    25.5.

    Beyond the Costume: An Approach to the Spirit of Carnival

  • Lecture performance and mask workshop with Camilo Pachón

    In his lecture-performance, Camilo Pachón presents his research on the spiritual practices of carnival in Colombia, Mexico and Ghana. He examines masking as an ancient cultural technique that is still popular today: masks can dissolve the self and enable us to imagine new worlds and create new connections to people and ecosystems. Based on this, we will then make our own designs and masks. Register now

    The talk will be held in English.


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Walk
    18.5.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • City walk and talk with Anne Arndt

    The city is full of stories: Architectural witnesses speak to us if we are willing to listen, local experts are connected to the neighbourhood through memories. The artist Anne Arndt invites us to perceive the urban space while walking and to combine existing knowledgewith new discoveries and experiences during guided city walks.

    Afterwards, the participants will come together again to share their impressions. Everyone is also invited to bring their own photos, maps, stories, books or objects with a connection to Erle, Gelsenkirchen and the Ruhr region as well as to the themes of the city and walking and to share their knowledge about them. Register now


  • Saturday
    14 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Walk
    11.5.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • The city is full of (im)material witnesses, architectural scars speak to us – if we are willing to listen. Local experts are connected to the city in every corner through their numerous memories. During the neighbourhood exploration, the Hanging Out_walking, with artist Anne Arndt, we want to combine existing knowledge with new discoveries and experiences. At the Hanging Out_sharing afterwards, we would like to get together again and chat.


  • Fr.—Sa.
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    3.5.— 29.6.

    Healing Complex Takeover


  • Friday
    17—20 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    3.5.

    Housewarming at Healing Complex

  • The Healing Complex Takeover kicks off with a housewarming: we invite all who are interested from and around Gelsenkirchen to get to know the artists Anne Arndt and Camilo Pachón while enjoying music and a relaxed atmosphere, gaining an insight into their projects and networking.

    Anne Arndt Porträt Foto Anne Arndt Artist ©

    Anne Arndt

    In her cross-media works, Anne Arndt critically and humorously scrutinises our public living space as a mirror of social cultures of power and remembrance.

    Camilo Porträt 1 Foto Sara Alvarado Artist ©

    Camilo Pachón

    With The Ancient Masked Temple, Camilo Pachón aims to create a collective space in the Healing Complex with a programme of workshops, readings, performances and the traditions of carnival.

    1 Artist ©

    Irena Haiduk

    In June 2022, Irena Haiduk opens the exhibition Healing Complex (2018—ongoing) in the former church of St. Bonifatius, which is becoming a new meeting and community place in Gelsenkirchen.

Healing Complex Takeover

240429a UKR healing Newsletter
Healing Complex 14
Healing Complex 08
Healing Complex 16

Healing Complex (2018–ongoing) ist ein auf Initiative der Künstlerin Irena Haiduk entstandenes Projekt von Urbane Künste Ruhr, das neue Formen des sozialen Miteinanders erprobt. In der dritten Phase des Projekts lädt Urbane Künste Ruhr nun zwei – per Open Call gefundene – Künstler*innen zu einem Recherche- und Arbeitsaufenthalt ein. Von April bis Ende Juni 2024 übernehmen Anne Arndt und Camilo Pachón den Ort und entwickeln jeweils ein Programm für die Nachbarschaft und andere Interessierte. Die Gäst*innen werden zu Gastgeber*innen und öffnen die Türen des Healing Complex als offenes Atelier, laden zu Workshops, Spaziergängen und Lesungen ein und suchen so den Austausch mit den Besucher*innen aus Erle, Gelsenkirchen und der Umgebung. In diesem offenen Prozess lädt das Takeover dazu ein, den künstlerischen Prozess mitzuverfolgen und aktiv mitzugestalten.

Das Gehen als demokratisches Fortbewegungsmittel ist ein zentraler Bestandteil unserer städtischen Erfahrung. Doch wie erleben wir den Stadtraum und seine Wege? Die Bewertung des öffentlichen Raums variiert je nach Person und Perspektive – wer darf sich wann und wie bewegen? Die Künstlerin Anne Arndt widmet sich dem Gehen bewusst ohne praktischen Zweck und lädt uns ein, den Stadtraum durch unterschiedliche Linsen wahrzunehmen. Gemeinsam mit ihr und lokalen Zeitzeug*innen möchten wir Erle aus neuen Blickwinkeln erkunden. Im Anschluss an die Spaziergänge treffen wir uns zum Hanging Out­_ im Healing Complex, um zu untersuchen, zu diskutieren und zu reflektieren, welche kulturellen Bedeutungen das Gehen in unserer Gesellschaft trägt.

Wie entsteht und funktioniert Gemeinschaft? Was sind gemeinsame Werte? Was wollen wir teilen? Was möchten wir gemeinsam erschaffen? Die künstlerische Arbeit von Camilo Pachón gründet auf dem Prinzip, dass alle Energie von menschlichen Beziehungen ausgeht. Vor diesem Hintergrund nutzt er Kunst als Werkzeug, um Menschen zusammenzubringen, sie auf verschiedenen Ebenen zu verbinden und Situationen zu schaffen, die direkte Kommunikation und Interaktion befördern. Mit Masken, Kostümen und Ritualen aus dem Karneval möchte der Künstler den Healing Complex in einen „maskierten Tempel“, The Ancient Masked Temple, verwandeln und lädt in Workshops und Paraden alle dazu ein, an dieser Transformation teilzuhaben.


Offenes Atelier

donnerstags 15—19 Uhr
samstags 11—14 Uhr


Programm

Spaziergänge und Workshops:
samstags ab 14 Uhr

Der Eintritt zu allen Veranstaltungen ist frei.


Zugänglichkeit

Infos zur Barrierefreiheit finden sich auf der Website des Healing Complex


Adresse

Ehemalige St. Bonifatiuskirche
Cranger Straße 338-342
45891 Gelsenkirchen

preview Video

Termine


  • Samstag
    18 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    29.6.

    Abschlussfeier und Abschied vom Healing Complex

  • Wir feiern gemeinsam mit Euch den Abschluss des Healing Complex und laden herzlich dazu ein, einen Abend mit künstlerischem Programm, Musik und Gesprächen mit uns zu verbringen. Mit Beiträgen von Anne Arndt und Camilo Pachón und dem Podiumsgespräch Ein Heilungskomplex? mit Britta Peters und Kasia Fudakowski, Künstlerin und Mitglied der Association for the Palliative Turn, Benjamin Melzer, Mitgestalter und Projektleiter der Werkstadt von PACT Zollverein und Nada Schroer, freischaffende Kuratorin.


  • Samstag
    16 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Lesung
    22.6.

    Hanging Out_ reading

  • Lesung und Gespräch mit Anne Arndt, Kamala Dubrovnik, Anneke Lubkowitz und anderen

    Wie bewegen wir uns? Was bringt uns in Bewegung? Wie werden wir von einem individuellen Körper zu einem kollektiven, der Zukunft gestaltet? Mit den Autorinnen Kamala Dubrovnik und Anneke Lubkowitz sowie weiteren Gästen spricht Anne Arndt über urbanes Gehen, Abhängen im öffentlichen Raum sowie über Perspektiven auf die Stadt und ihre Geschichten. Zur Anmeldung


  • Freitag
    16—22 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    21.6.

    Day of the Sun

  • Wir feiern den (fast) längsten Tag des Jahres!
    Mit Camilo Pachón, Andi.Andean und den Perfomerinnen Calamidades Lola und Amuleto Manuela

    Jedes Jahr feiern Camilo Pachón und sein Projekt „Carnaval Digital“ die Sommersonnenwende. In Gelsenkirchen beginnt der Tag um 16 Uhr mit einem Workshop unter der Leitung des Musikers Andi.Andean, in dem die Teilnehmer ein Trommelensemble zusammenstellen. Ab 19 Uhr folgt eine Reihe von musikalischen Interventionen aus aller Welt und zur Dämmerung das Tanzritual Saca Sal der Perfomerinnen Calamidades Lola und Amuleto Manuela.

    Die Teilnehmendenzahl des Trommelworkshops ist auf 15 Personen begrenzt. Der Workshop findet in englischer Sprache statt. Hier geht's zur Anmeldung

    Am Anschlussprogramm kann ohne Anmeldung teilgenommen werden.


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Spaziergang
    15.6.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • Stadtspaziergang und Gespräch mit Anne Arndt

    Die Stadt steckt voller Geschichten: Architektonische Zeitzeugen sprechen zu uns, wenn wir bereit sind zuzuhören, lokale Expert*innen sind durch Erinnerungen mit der Umgebung verbunden. Die Künstlerin Anne Arndt lädt dazu ein, den Stadtraum beim Gehen wahrzunehmen und bei geführten Stadtspaziergängen vorhandenes Wissen mit neuen Entdeckungen und Erfahrungen zu verbinden.

    Anschließend kommen die Teilnehmenden noch einmal zusammen, um sich über ihre Eindrücke auszutauschen. Alle sind zudem eingeladen, eigene Fotos, Karten, Geschichten, Bücher oder Objekte mit einem Bezug zu Erle, Gelsenkirchen und dem Ruhrgebiet sowie zu den Themen Stadt und Gehen mitzubringen und ihr Wissen darüber zu teilen. Zur Anmeldung


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    8.6.

    The Ex-Votos of your Inner Temple

  • Mit Gastvortrag „Echoes of Slavic Pagan Magic and Philosophy“
    Vortrag von Anisia Affek und Keramik-Workshop mit Camilo Pachón

    Was verbindet die Menschen mit der Natur? Wie lässt sich diese Verbindung erkunden und womöglich neu herstellen? Diese Veranstaltung untersucht die Weltanschauungen indigener Völker Kolumbiens und setzt sie zu heidnischen Ritualen slawischer Kulturen in Beziehung. Vor diesem Hintergrund sollen anschließend gemeinsam Keramiken gestaltet werden, die von der Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Natur inspiriert sind. Zur Anmeldung

    Der Workshop findet in englischer Sprache statt.


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    1.6.

    The Spirit between the Mask and your Body

  • Workshop mit Camilo Pachón und Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica

    Mit Masken, Kostümen und Ritualen aus der Tradition des Karnevals möchte Camilo Pachón den Healing Complex in einen „maskierten Tempel“ überführen und lädt dazu ein, an dieser Verwandlung teilzuhaben. Mithilfe der Maske als transformativem Wesen und Werkzeug werden die Teilnehmer*innen dieses Workshops gemeinsam mit Tänzerin und Choreografin Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica spielerisch rhythmische Bewegungen und Körperpraktiken erkunden. Zur Anmeldung

    Der Workshop findet in englischer und deutscher Sprache statt.


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Workshop
    25.5.

    Beyond the Costume: Eine Annäherung an den Geist des Karnevals

  • Lecture-Performance und Masken-Workshop mit Camilo Pachón

    In seiner Lecture-Performance stellt Camilo Pachón seine Forschungen über die spirituellen Praktiken des Karnevals in Kolumbien, Mexiko und Ghana vor. Er untersucht die Maskierung als uralte kulturelle Technik, die auch heute noch populär ist: Masken können das Selbst auflösen und ermöglichen es uns, neue Welten zu imaginieren und neue Verbindungen zu Menschen und Ökosystemen herzustellen. Davon ausgehend werden im Anschluss eigene Entwürfe und Masken angefertigt. Zur Anmeldung

    Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Spaziergang
    18.5.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • Stadtspaziergang und Gespräch mit Anne Arndt

    Die Stadt steckt voller Geschichten: Architektonische Zeitzeugen sprechen zu uns, wenn wir bereit sind zuzuhören, lokale Expert*innen sind durch Erinnerungen mit der Umgebung verbunden. Die Künstlerin Anne Arndt lädt dazu ein, den Stadtraum beim Gehen wahrzunehmen und bei geführten Stadtspaziergängen vorhandenes Wissen mit neuen Entdeckungen und Erfahrungen zu verbinden.

    Anschließend kommen die Teilnehmenden noch einmal zusammen, um sich über ihre Eindrücke auszutauschen. Alle sind zudem eingeladen, eigene Fotos, Karten, Geschichten, Bücher oder Objekte mit einem Bezug zu Erle, Gelsenkirchen und dem Ruhrgebiet sowie zu den Themen Stadt und Gehen mitzubringen und ihr Wissen darüber zu teilen. Zur Anmeldung


  • Samstag
    14 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Spaziergang
    11.5.

    Hanging Out_ walking + sharing

  • Die Stadt ist voll von (im)materiellen Zeugen, architektonische Narben sprechen zu uns – wenn wir bereit sind zuzuhören. Lokale Expert*innen sind in jeder Ecke durch ihre zahlreichen Erinnerungen mit der Stadt verbunden. Bei der Stadtteilerkundung, dem Hanging Out_walking, mit Künstlerin Anne Arndt möchten wir das bereits vorhandene Wissen mit neuen Entdeckungen und Erfahrungen verbinden. Beim anschließenden Hanging Out_sharing möchten wir noch einmal in den Austausch kommen. Die Teilnehmenden sind dazu eingeladen, ihre eigenen Fotos, Karten, Geschichten, Bücher, Objekte o.ä. mit einem Bezug zu Erle, Gelsenkirchen und dem Ruhrgebiet sowie zu den Themen Stadt und Gehen mitzubringen und ihr Wissen darüber zu teilen.


  • Fr.—Sa.
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    3.5.— 29.6.

    Healing Complex Takeover


  • Freitag
    17—20 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Takeover
    3.5.

    Housewarming im Healing Complex

  • Den Auftakt des Healing Complex Takeover bildet das Housewarming: wir laden alle Interessierten aus und um Gelsenkirchen ein, die Künstler*innen Anne Arndt und Camilo Pachón bei Musik und entspannter Atmosphäre kennenzulernen, einen Einblick in ihre Projekte zu gewinnen und sich zu vernetzen.

    Anne Arndt Porträt Foto Anne Arndt Künstler*in ©

    Anne Arndt

    In ihren medienübergreifenden Arbeiten hinterfragt Anne Arndt kritisch wie humorvoll unseren öffentlichen Lebensraum als Spiegel gesellschaftlicher Macht- und Erinnerungskulturen.

    Camilo Porträt 1 Foto Sara Alvarado Künstler*in ©

    Camilo Pachón

    Mit The Ancient Masked Temple möchte Camilo Pachón mit einem Programm aus Workshops, Performances und den Traditionen des Karnevals einen kollektiven Raum im Healing Complex erschaffen.

    Maria Mercedes Flores Mujic Ezequiel Angeloni Künstler*in ©

    Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica

    Maria Mercedes Flores Mujica ist eine synkretistische inter(un)disziplinäre venezolanische Tanzkünstlerin. Ihre Choreografien basieren auf der Vielschichtigkeit von Rhythmus und seiner Wahrnehmung.

    Anisia Affek noraheinisch Künstler*in ©

    Anisia Affek

    Anisia Affek ist eine in Berlin lebende multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, die sich mit Fragen der kulturellen Auslöschung und dem Überleben der Identität in unterdrückerischen Umgebungen beschäftigt.

    Kamala Dubrovnik credits Jörg Lutz Künstler*in ©

    Kamala Dubrovnik

    In ihrer Arbeit begegnet Kamala Dubrovnik uns als Performerin, Vocal Artist, aber auch als Regisseurin, und versucht so einen ganzheitlichen Zugang zur Literatur und ihrer Inszenierung zu schaffen.

    Anneke Lubkowitz Künstler*in ©

    Anneke Lubkowitz

    Anneke Lubkowitz ist Literaturwissenschaftlerin und Autorin. 2018 veröffentlichte sie ihren Essay Falling through the map und 2020 die von ihr herausgegebene Anthologie Psychogeografie.

    1 Künstler*in ©

    Irena Haiduk

    Im Juni 2022 eröffnet Irena Haiduk die Ausstellung Healing Complex (2018—ongoing) in der ehemaligen Kirche St. Bonifatius, die zu einem Begegnungs- und Gemeinschaftsort in Gelsenkirchen wird.