Climate Changing Room

UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2610
UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2608
UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2602

Between the regular beach and the nudist area at Silbersee II stands Kasia Fudakowski’s (*1985) Climate Changing Room. From the outside, its curved steel arcs are not immediately recognisable for what they are: a changing cubicle. This is because instead of providing reliable protection from view, this delicate construction decorated with fig leaves on mobile steel branches only conceals the essentials—and it only does that from certain angles. The fig leaf is best known in art history for its botanical attribute of covering genitalia when these are required to be hidden from the gaze of spectators.

The title Climate Changing Room is intended as a humorous commentary that combines the two terms ‚climate change‘ and ‚changing room‘. The recurring disputes between ‚regular‘ and nudist bathers around the boundary between their two sections of beach provided Fudakowski with the inspiration for her work.

Climate Changing Room is one part of the group of works Continuouslessness, a series of finely forged steel segments that can be endlessly combined and extended which the artist has produced since 2011. In a similar manner to her video work Word Count, which she is presenting as part of the Ruhr Ding: Klima at the Blumenthal Mine in Recklinghausen, each element of Continuouslessness has its own genesis. Joined together they form one long, multi-coloured screen that can always be reassembled anew in different ways.


Information

In the wake of the ongoing pandemic, access to the Silbersee II and the Ruhr Ding: Klima artworks located there is not possible at this time. We will inform here as well as on all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

At the Silbersee II entrance fees are charged during the bathing season by our cooperation partner, the operating company Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH.

Regular:

4,00 €

Children under 3 years:

free

Parking fee:

4,00 €


Hours

Currently closed


Address

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Journey

From Haltern-Sythen railway station it is about 15 minutes by bike to Silbersee II. By public transport, the lake can be reached by bus 273E. There are two car parks at Silbersee II, from both of which the artworks are within easy walking distance. There is an information point at the car park near Café Treibsand.

UKR Wandersalon 09092020 c Seidel 07 Künstler*in ©

Kasia Fudakowski

Kasia Fudakowski’s conceptual works of art follow strict, self-imposed rules, usually developed and expanded by the artist over a period of several years.

Climate Changing Room

Silbersee Climate Changing Room  c Daniel Sadrowski 2610
Silbersee Climate Changing Room c Daniel Sadrowski 2608
Silbersee Climate Changing Room c Daniel Sadrowski 2602

Zwischen regulärem Badestrand und FKK-Bereich des Silbersee II steht Kasia Fudakowskis (*1985) Climate Changing Room. Von außen sind die geschwungenen Stahlbögen nicht sofort als das zu erkennen, was sie darstellen: eine Umkleidekabine. Denn anstatt einen verlässlichen Sichtschutz zu gewähren, verhüllt die filigrane Konstruktion, versehen mit Feigenblättern an beweglichen Stahlzweigen, nur das Nötigste und dies auch nur aus bestimmten Blickwinkeln. Das Feigenblatt ist aus der Kunstgeschichte als das botanische Attribut bekannt, welches Genitalien verhüllt, deren Anblick den Betrachter*innen verwehrt bleiben sollte.

Der Titel Climate Changing Room ist als humorvoller Kommentar zu verstehen, der die englischen Begriffe Climate Change (Klimawandel) und Changing Room (Umkleidekabine) miteinander vereint. Der immer wieder aufflammende Konflikt zwischen ‚regulären‘ und FKK-Badegästen um die Grenze zwischen den beiden Strandabschnitten diente Fudakowski als Inspiration für ihre Arbeit.

Climate Changing Room ist Teil der Werkgruppe Continuouslessness, welche die Künstlerin als Reihe von endlos kombiniert und erweiterbaren fein geschmiedeten Stahlteilen seit 2011 fortführt. Ähnlich wie in der Videoarbeit Word Count, die sie im Rahmen des Ruhr Ding: Klima in der Zeche Blumenthal in Recklinghausen zeigt, besitzt jedes Element von Continuouslessness seine eigene Entstehungsgeschichte. Miteinander verbunden bilden sie einen langen bunten Paravent, der immer wieder anders zusammengesetzt werden kann.


Information

Der Zugang zum Silbersee II und den dort beheimateten Kunstwerken des Ruhr Ding: Klima ist im Zuge der geltenden Coronaschutzverordnung derzeit leider nicht möglich. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Am Silbersee II fallen von Seiten unseres Kooperationspartners, der Betreibergesellschaft Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH, während der Badesaison Eintrittsgebühren an.

Regulär:

4,00 €

Kinder unter 3 Jahren:

frei

Parkplatzgebühr:

4,00 €


Öffnungszeiten

Aktuell geschlossen


Adresse

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Anfahrt

Vom Bahnhof Haltern-Sythen sind es rund 15 Minuten mit dem Rad zum Silbersee II. Mit ÖPNV ist der See mit dem Bus 273E zu erreichen. Am Silbersee II sind zwei Parkplätze vorhanden, von beiden sind die Kunstwerke fußläufig gut zu erreichen. Am Parkplatz nahe des Café Treibsand befindet sich ein Infopoint zum Ruhr Ding: Klima.

Kasia Fudakowski Künstler*in ©

Kasia Fudakowski

Kasia Fudakowskis konzeptuelle Arbeiten folgen strengen selbstauferlegten Regeln. Meistens entwickelt und erweitert sie diese über mehrere Jahre hinweg.