Asad Raza

In his work artist Asad Raza (*1974 in Buffalo, USA) often explores dialogic exchange and rejects disciplinary boundaries. Raza conceives of art as a metabolic, active experience combining human, non-human beings, and objects in his projects. Often working outside the museum context and referencing intimate spaces, he developed works such as The Bedroom at the 2018 Lahore Biennale, for which he created a temporary space where young people could sing and play chess with visitors or untitled (plot for a dialogue) (2017), where visitors were invited to play tennis in a church from the 16th century in Milan. For home show (2015), which took place at his private apartment in New York, Raza invited artists and friends to intervene in his life. Together with Hans Ulrich Obrist Asad Raza currently curates a series of exhibitions that is inspired by the philosopher and poet Édouard Glissant.

Raza studied literature and film at the John Hopkins University and the New York University in New York and was artistic director of the Villa Empain in Brussels in 2016-17. Apart from that he curated group exhibitions at the Venice Architecture Biennale and for LUMA Arles, amongst others.

Invited by Urbane Künste Ruhr as their contribution to Ruhrtriennale 2021, Raza shows his installation Absorption in Essen, in which a team of cultivators processes 200 tons of soil into Neosoil. Earlier versions of Absorption
were shown at the 34th Kaldor Public Art Project (2019) in Sydney and at Gropius Bau in Berlin in 2020.

Künstlerportrait Asad Raza Benutzerdefiniert
20210811 ukr asad reza holtgreve 0216 hires Project ©

Asad Raza: Absorption

With “Absorption” Urbane Künste Ruhr is showing an installation by US artist Asad Raza of sensual and poetic power that takes up the entire first floor of the listed former Allbauhaus on Pferdemarkt.

Asad Raza

In seiner Arbeit erforscht der Künstler Asad Raza (*1974 in Buffalo, USA) oft einen dialogischen Austausch und bewegt sich jenseits disziplinärer Grenzen. Dabei begreift er Kunst als aktive, sinnliche Erfahrung und kombiniert menschliche, nicht-menschliche Akteur*innen und Objekte. Oftmals arbeitet Raza außerhalb des Museumskontexts und nimmt Bezug auf intime Räume, so zum Beispiel in der Arbeit The Bedroom auf der Lahore Biennale 2018, für die er einen temporären Raum erschuf, in dem Jugendliche mit Besuchenden Singen und Schachspielen konnten. In dem Projekt untitled (plot for a dialogue) (2017) installierte Raza ein tennisähnliches Spiel in einer entweihten Kirche aus dem 16. Jahrhundert in Mailand. Für seine Arbeit home show (2015) bat Asad Raza Künstler*innen und Freund*innen Interventionen in seinem Apartment in New York zu entwickeln und damit in sein Leben einzugreifen. Mit Hans Ulrich Obrist kuratiert Asad Raza derzeit eine von Édouard Glissant inspirierte Ausstellungsreihe.

Raza studierte Literatur und Film an der John Hopkins University in New York sowie an der New York University. Er war von 2016-2017 künstlerischer Leiter der Villa Empain in Brüssel und kuratierte zahlreiche Gruppenausstellungen, unter anderem bei der Venice Architecture Biennale sowie für das LUMA Arles.

Als Beitrag von Urbane Künste Ruhr zur Ruhrtriennale 2021 zeigt Raza in Essen seine Installation Absorption, in der ein Team sogenannter Cultivators über 200 Tonnen Erde in Neosoil transformiert. Frühere Varianten der Arbeit wurden beim 34. Kaldor Public Art Project (2019) in Sydney sowie 2020 im Gropius Bau in Berlin gezeigt.

Künstlerportrait Asad Raza Benutzerdefiniert
20210811 ukr asad reza holtgreve 0216 hires Projekt ©

Asad Raza: Absorption

Gemeinsam mit dem US-amerikanischen Künstler Asad Raza zeigt Urbane Künste Ruhr als Beitrag zur diesjährigen Ruhrtriennale im ehemaligen Allbauhaus die groß angelegte Installation Absorption.