800.000 Jahre Photosynthese

UKR Ruhrding GE Club Real 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1298
UKR Ruhrding GE Club Real 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1419
UKR Ruhrding GE Club Real 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1335
UKR Ruhrding GE Club Real 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1401

The parliamentary representatives of jackdaws, grasses, mosses and bacteria are conducting a heated discussion: Who is responsible for the living conditions of the citizens of the Consol park, under whose lawn mining waste deposits can be found? Why is the growth of mosses favoured by aggressive mowing of lawn areas? Why don’t bacteria in the landfill have access to oxygen?

This debate including these questions could take place in a parliamentary session of the Organismendemokratie—a democracy of organisms. The principle was invented by the group of artists Club Real. Since 2000, the collective has realised participatory, site-specific performance projects which test alternative realities. As part of the Ruhr Ding: Klima, Club Real members Mathias Lenz, Marianne Ramsay-Sonneck and Georg Reinhardt use this parliamentary model as a point of departure to join local residents in examining the question of how the effects of coal mining on this former colliery site can be offset. It would require 800,000 years of photosynthesis by the plants on the site to counteract the quantity of CO2 that was emitted.

The project proposes a form of democracy in which all species have equal rights. The measures required for the future are decided upon in a participatory process that takes into account the needs of all organisms. Citizens can help determine the park’s future as parliamentary representatives of various different species that inhabit the site. The results are then put up for discussion in installations and audio format in the Consol park where visitors can debate them. The project is supplemented by an exhibition in the Kunstinstallation Sammlung Werner Thiel which is located in an adjacent area.

A co-operation with the Consol Theater and the city of Gelsenkirchen


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

Admission is free.


Hours

Temporarily closed


Address

Areal im Consol Park
Bismarckstraße 240
45889 Gelsenkirchen

Logo club real Künstler*in ©

Club Real

Since 2000, Club Real has been realising mainly participative and site-specific performance projects, in which alternative reality scenarios are devised and enacted.

800.000 Jahre Photosynthese — Organismendemo­kratie Gelsenkirchen

Club Real Organismendemo­kratie c Daniel Sadrowski 1298
Club Real Organismendemo­kratie c Daniel Sadrowski 1419
Club Real Organismendemo­kratie Daniel Sadrowski 1335
Club Real Organismendemo­kratie c Daniel Sadrowski 1401

Die parlamentarischen Vertretungen der Dohlen, der Gräser, der Moose und der Bakterien führen eine hitzige Diskussion: Wer ist verantwortlich für die Lebenssituationen der Bürger*innen im Consol-Park, unter dessen Rasen sich Bergbaualtlasten befinden? Warum wird das Wachstum der Moose durch starken Beschnitt der Rasenflächen begünstigt? Wieso bekommen die Bakterien in der Deponie keinen Zugang zu Sauerstoff? Diese Auseinandersetzung könnte in einer Parlamentssitzung der Organismendemokratie stattfinden.

Das Prinzip stammt von der Künstler*innengruppe Club Real. Seit 2000 realisiert das Kollektiv partizipative, ortsspezifische Performanceprojekte, in denen alternative Realitätsentwürfe erprobt werden. Im Rahmen des Ruhr Ding: Klima nutzen die Mitglieder Mathias Lenz, Marianne Ramsay-Sonneck und Georg Reinhardt das parlamentarische Modell als Ausgangspunkt, um gemeinsam mit Anwohner*innen der Frage nachzugehen, wie die Auswirkungen des Bergbaus auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Zeche ausgeglichen werden könnten. 800.000 Jahre Photosynthese durch die Vegetation des Geländes wären nötig, um die ausgestoßene CO2-Menge wieder auszugleichen.

Das Projekt schlägt eine Demokratie vor, in der alle Spezies die gleichen Rechte haben. In einem partizipativen Prozess, der die Bedürfnisse aller Organismen berücksichtigt, wird über notwendige Maßnahmen für die Zukunft entschieden. Als parlamentarische Vertreter*innen von verschiedenen Spezies, die auf dem Gelände leben, können Bürger*innen die Zukunft des Parks mitgestalten. Die Ergebnisse werden den Besucher*innen über Installationen und Audiobeiträge im Consol-Park zur Diskussion gestellt. In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft wird das Projekt um einen Ausstellungsbereich in der Kunstinstallation Sammlung Werner Thiel ergänzt.

Eine Kooperation mit dem Consol Theater und der Stadt Gelsenkirchen


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Der Eintritt ist frei.


Öffnungszeiten

Temporär geschlossen


Adresse

Areal im Consol Park
Bismarckstraße 240
45889 Gelsenkirchen

Logo club real Künstler*in ©

Club Real

Club Real realisiert seit 2000 hauptsächlich partizipative, ortsspezifische Performanceprojekte, in denen alternative Realitätsentwürfe erarbeitet und durchgespielt werden.