Future Past

UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2544
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2171
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2511
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2513

Two vast shimmering objects occupy the centre of the abandoned Schwarzkaue (black changing room) at the General Blumenthal Mine, each revolving around itself. They appear to be machines from the future, as yet unused, or living extra-terrestrial creatures from a sci-fi film. However, these sculptures by the artist Monira Al Qadiri (*1983) are large-scale reproductions of drill bits from the Kuwaiti oil industry. Their iridescent lacquer is reminiscent of the colour spectrum of this black gold and that of pearls. Long before oil was discovered, pearl diving was the most valuable sector of Kuwait’s economy. However, crude oil has long since provided the economic foundations of the country in which Monira Al Qadiri grew up—the commodity is ubiquitous, yet the technology and processes of its exploitation are barely visible to the public. By contrast in the Ruhr Area, where coal mining—like the oil industry in Kuwait—was the main pillar of the economy for a long time, the extraction of natural resources now belongs to the past and the machines that were once used to mine coal can now be seen in museums. Once the oil fields have been exhausted, this might also someday be the case in Kuwait.

This country in the Middle East repeatedly plays a role in Monira Al Qadiri’s works—whether in exploring the cultural history of pearl diving, the pop culture of her teenage years with its heavy American influences or experiences of the Gulf War, which she witnessed as a child. Despite the complexity of her themes, she approaches them with considerable humour in her installations, performances and sculptures.


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

Admission is free.


Hours

Temporarily closed.


Address

Zeche General Blumenthal
Westcharweg 101
45659 Recklinghausen


Journey

It takes about 15 minutes by bike from the main rail-way station to the colliery. By public transport, the colliery can be reached from Recklinghausen main station by bus 214 and 270.

UKR Wandersalon19 Bochum 2020 c Daniel Sadrowski 2768 Künstler*in ©

Monira Al Qadiri

The history and conditions of the extraction of petroleum surface again and again in Monira Al Qadiri’s work.

Future Past

Future Past c Daniel Sadrowski 2544
Future Past c Daniel Sadrowski 2171
Future Past c Daniel Sadrowski 2511
Future Past c Daniel Sadrowski 2513

Mitten in der verlassenen Schwarzkaue der Zeche General Blumenthal stehen zwei große, schillernde Objekte, die sich um sich selbst drehen. Sie wirken wie noch unbenutzte Maschinen aus der Zukunft oder lebendige außerirdische Wesen aus einem Science-Fiction-Film. Tatsächlich handelt es sich bei den Skulpturen der Künstlerin Monira Al Qadiri (*1983) um vergrößerte Nachbildungen von Bohrköpfen aus der Erdölindustrie Kuwaits. Die schillernde Lackierung ist an das Farbspektrum des Schwarzen Golds und an das von Perlen angelehnt. Denn lange bevor das Öl entdeckt wurde, war das Perlentauchen wichtigster Wirtschaftszweig Kuwaits. Seit langem bildet allerdings Erdöl die wirtschaftliche Grundlage des Landes, in dem Monira Al Qadiri aufgewachsen ist — der Rohstoff ist allgegenwärtig und doch sind die Technologien und Abläufe seiner Förderung kaum öffentlich sichtbar. Im Ruhrgebiet dagegen, wo der Steinkohlebergbau, ähnlich wie die Ölförderung in Kuwait, lange den wichtigsten Wirtschaftszweig darstellte, gehört der Ressourcenabbau mittlerweile der Vergangenheit an und die Maschinen der Kohleförderung können im Museum besichtigt werden. Wenn die Ölfelder erschöpft sind, wird dies vielleicht irgendwann auch in Kuwait der Fall sein.

In den Arbeiten von Monira Al Qadiri spielt das Land auf der arabischen Halbinsel immer wieder eine Rolle — sei es in der Beschäftigung mit der Kulturgeschichte des Perlentauchens, der Popkultur ihrer Jugend, die stark von der amerikanischen beeinflusst war, oder der Erfahrungen des Golfkriegs, welchen sie in ihrer Kindheit miterlebte. Trotz der Komplexität ihrer Themen verhandelt sie diese in ihren Installationen, Performances und Skulpturen mit jeder Menge Humor.


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Der Eintritt ist frei.


Öffnungszeiten

Temporär geschlossen.


Adresse

Zeche General Blumenthal
Westcharweg 101
45659 Recklinghausen


Anfahrt

Vom Hauptbahnhof sind es rund 15 Minuten mit dem Rad zur Zeche. Mit dem ÖPNV ist die Zeche vom Hauptbahnhof Recklinghausen mit den Buslinien 214 und 270 zu erreichen.

Monira Al Qadiri Künstler*in ©

Monira Al Qadiri

Die Geschichte und Bedingungen der Förderung von Kohle und Erdöl tauchen in Monira Al Qadiris Arbeiten immer wieder auf.